the sun, the sea, and you & me

I make no secret of my love of the beach – there is something about the feeling of sand beneath your feet, the ocean stretching out for miles, the lapping of the waves against the shore. I seize any opportunity to spend time there – Singapore, unfortunately, doesn’t have the best beaches in the world, so I enjoy going to the ones overseas, where the water is clear and my view of the horizon isn’t obstructed by ships.

Back in May, my boyfriend and I headed to Bintan for a short beach getaway at Club Med. It was our first trip together ever, so it was as much a holiday as it was an opportunity to see if we could spend four days together in each other’s extended company without it ending in bloodshed.

Fortunately, we emerged from it just fine.

Bintan was a lovely experience – Club Med is an all-inclusive deal, but we opted to just take things easy and not feel obliged to pack our days with activities. We mainly spent it lounging around and stuffing our faces with food.

When every meal is an all-you-can-eat buffet, you do your best to fill your stomach to near-bursting point.

We did try our hand at some archery (I have the aim of a drunk frog, aka none whatsover), and went snorkelling. I’ve never done it before, so swimming with the fish and coral was a lovely experience. The boyfriend spent most of his time dozing by the beach and pool, while I was content to splash around in the water and help myself to the 24-hour open bar (the alcohol was free-flow, what else do you expect from me?)

I even joined an aqua fitness class, and it’s actually very tiring – the movements are simple, but because you’re in the water, the resistance means you exert more effort than you would on land. My muscles ached a little after the fact, but it was fun.

After getting back from the trip, I did a simple four-page spread in my traveler’s notebook. I’ve been using Midori Traveler’s Notebooks to document my experiences, largely because they’re smaller and simpler than traditional scrapbooking, and I’ve been really enjoying it.

Censored our names on our welcome card for privacy.

I kept my pages for Bintan really simple, focusing on using memorabilia instead of a lot of decorative elements. I have a habit of keeping ticket stubs, tags, brochures, and other nonsense from my trips, and they add a nice touch to my spreads. I incorporated a map of the resort from our welcome card into the layout, as well as luggage tags and other scraps I picked up.

I didn’t use many other supplies- just a Shiny Dater Stamp, Tombow glue tape, a black Muji Gel Pen 0.5, a black Zig Clean Color, Versafine Ink in Onyx Black, and pineapple washi tape from ezbuy. I used a number of stamps as well, but I can’t recall what brand they are – some are from ezbuy, others were picked up at Popular ages ago.

Going to Club Med was great – everyone was friendly, the food was awesome, the atmosphere was brilliant… for $600+ per person, it was a sweet deal. It’s definitely on my list of places I’d go back to, and I’m looking forward to going on more adventures with the bae and documenting our experiences (:

/prometheusbyfire.

Leave a Reply

